top of page
  • Writer's pictureFysh Wong

Van Gogh x Miyazaki Inspired Acrylic Series

Updated: Apr 4, 2020

想像梵高 X 宮崎駿系列




As a typical '90s Hong Kong kid, I grew up with heavy influence by Japanese Anime. Hayao Miyazaki's directed TV animation series and movies played a huge role on shaping the utopia in my mind. The magic was not only enchanted from the amazing characters, but also from how human interacts and responds to nature.


Vincent Van Gogh's paintings are magical too. He painted what he saw. He looked at the sky like everyone did. But no one else painted the stars and nature like the way he painted them. It was fascinating to me. ⎡看他看長夜星空 那種燦爛顯得世間太蒼白

"See how he saw the starry night, the splendor comparing to the pale world." -- lyrics from my favourite song about Van Gogh.


If there's a world these two masters created, it must be spectacular! I wish I could see...

Therefore, I painted this series of Van Gogh x Miyazaki inspired acrylic paintings combined some of my favourite scenes of their works.



 



The Starry Night at Laputa (2017)


Inspired by The Starry Night (1889) and Laputa: Castle in the Sky (1986)








 




Café Gosti Terrace at Night (2018)

Inspired by Café Terrace at Night (1888) and Gosti Restaurant in St. Petersburg, Russia where I had an wonderful time with my family in Summer 2016








 



Sunflowers on Remnant Island (2018)


Inspired by Sunflowers (1888) and Future Boy Conan (1978)







Tell me what you think. :)


And the work will be continued.



73 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page